When The Waddell was built in 1845 it was one of the first of the large brick buildings built on the main street. Port Hope’s prosperous era, which was to last for about thirty years, was just the beginning. The site of The Waddell building was originally an island, since the Ganaraska River at one time divided and also flowed through a swampy area which is now Mill Street. The building features prominent chimneys, parapet end walls, a decorative cornice supported by brackets, and a rooftop cupola or lantern. Guests can now choose from four different suites; Terrace Room, Double-Queen Room, Riverside Room, and the Streetside Mill Room.
GPS Coordinates: 43.950837000, -78.291779000