In 1906, number 77 Albert Street was purchased from the McCutcheon Family by the Corporation of the United Counties of Northumberland and Durham to house prisoners from the old "Goal" as it was then called. Construction began and the jail opened later the same year. The Jail continued to be expanded as the region grew, adding cells, offices and a huge concrete wall to keep the prisoners inside during its 92 year history. In 1998, the Cobourg Jail closed its doors for the last time and it was auctioned off to the highest bidder. Cobourg Jail was one of the biggest of its time, holding up to one hundred inmates. The jail was finally closed to inmates in 1998 and acquired by private interests in early 1999. It has since been converted into a luxury 20+ Room Country Inn & Hotel, complete with Restaurant, Museum, Banquet and Conference facilities.
GPS Coordinates: 43.958549000, -78.167971000