Built between 1838 and 1840 of cut stone quarried from what is now Jackson Park, this building is considered one of the finest examples of courthouse architecture in Ontario! In the 1960’s Eb Zeidler designed an addition. Zeidler went on to design many prominent buildings, such as the Toronto Eaton’s Centre, Ontario Place, and McMaster University’s Health Sciences Centre. The stonewalled jail, located at the rear of the building, was in operation until 2002. Five hangings took place in the yard. Always at night, they were widely discussed events in Peterborough’s early history.
GPS Coordinates: 44.307860000, -78.317142000