In 1827, the Purdy family built a dam on the banks of the Scugog River – giving birth to the current Town of Lindsay, then called “Purdy’s Mills”. The next year, in 1828, the Purdys built a sawmill to provide vital services to a town under construction, and in 1830 a grist mill was finally constructed. The mill destroyed by fire and was rebuilt in 1869. The existing structure once contained a stone flour mill and a lumber mill. A tramway was built across the river to the railway tracks. Destroyed by fire in 1978, the remaining structure has been incorporated into a park – remnants of a bygone age of rugged industry and dogged determination.
GPS Coordinates: 44.356300200, -78.733419700