In 1832 William and Jane (Stewart) Lang emigrated from Scotland and constructed a water-powered carding mill here on the Indian River. For 57 years William, and later his son-in-law Richard Hope, processed wool for spinning. In 1892, responding to changing needs, the family converted the business into a saw mill. The Otonabee Region Conservation Authority acquired the mill in 1966. Volunteers have restored the turbines, saw-house and wood-finishing machinery and demonstrate the cutting and finishing of lumber as it was done in pioneer times. The upstairs museum houses an outstanding collection of 19th century wood-working tools. Come and experience history on the mighty little Indian River.
GPS Coordinates: 44.283478000, -78.172855000